Uncategorized

Painting of Gandhi

For several months I heard the soft little voice in my head telling me to paint a portrait of Gandhi so I searched the Internet and looked through some books before I settled on this image.   I completed the portrait last year.   Before I began painting this portrait, I’d look at the image wondering if I was tackling something that I wasn’t ready for.  The thought of painting his eyeglasses had kept me from picking up my brush.  Then one night, I heard just begin and so I did.  I turned on my music (probably smooth jazz), sipped on hot tea or a glass of red wine (I do not recall at this moment), placed my canvas on my easel, took out my paints, brushes and pallet and sat in my chair practicing being present and in the moment while praying for guidance and help.  Most of this painting came through that one night.  I realized I was in the moment and willing to let the Creator move through me.  One of the gifts I received since I’ve been on my spiritual journey is, when any of us act on the guidance from the voice of love some amazing things can occur in our lives as long as love is moving through us in our actions.  What I had produced on that canvas was amazing to me until my voice of fear crept in.  My voice of fear shouts louder than the voice of love.  I wanted to start painting Gandhi’s eyeglasses and then negative feelings surfaced as I was listening to my ego!  This is an example of disconnecting from the Creator.  All I could hear was you can’t do this, how are you going to make these glasses look real and you’re going to mess this up.  I was swimming in fear.  When I’m swimming in fear I need help getting out.  All I had to do was recognize what was going on, breathe and ask for help from within.  I wasn’t consistent with practicing and using the tools I’d been given.  As usual giving up was much easier for me!  That evening I was capable of hearing from within how to paint the eyeglasses.

I went to my painting class a couple of days later and asked for help from my teacher.  She showed me a few areas to work on and spoke about Gandhi’s eyeglasses and how to paint them so they wouldn’t look cartoonish.  I laughed and agreed.  I’m learning to laugh at myself and not take things seriously.  I’ve come to understand and see I take things seriously because of my own judgments.  I am my own worst critic and this gets in my way!  The Creator never criticizes, He is my biggest fan and always willing to help me as long as I’m willing to let Him.  In order to be an instrument of God, I must let go of my self-righteousness (believing I can’t do something), express humility and have compassion.  I can be like Gandhi, who was deeply impacted by Jesus teachings.

~Pam

“Be the change you want to see in the world.” ~Mahatma Gandhi

“You may never know what results come of your action, but if you do nothing there will be no result.” ~Mahatma Gandhi

“Freedom is not worth having if it does not include the freedom to make mistakes.” ~Mahatma Gandhi

Holzknecht Ghandi corrected sized

6 thoughts on “Painting of Gandhi

    1. Thank you. I enjoyed painting this portrait of Gandhi. I’m in the process of putting my Etsy shop together in order to sell prints of some of my work and poetry. Thank you for the likes and visiting my blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

