Uncategorized

The Many Aspects of Self-Righteousness

Courage comes with practice and letting go of self-righteousness.

Self-righteousness shows up in many forms and these are some of the ways I sabotage myself with my need to be right.  Relinquishing my pattern of self-righteousness is something I work on daily.

My self-righteousness shows up when I tell a story to someone I know, as I’m unconsciously hoping they’ll be in agreement with me on how I was treated unfairly or about a judgment I have toward another.

My self-righteousness shows up when I’m listening and agreeing to the voice inside my head that’s putting down someone else as well as myself.  This voice is relentless with negative beliefs I’ve accepted.

My self-righteousness shows up when I tune out what another is saying because I’m not in agreement and or what I’m hearing doesn’t match with my belief system.  I’ve closed my mind.

My self-righteousness shows up when I do not want to take the steps I must take in order to succeed in accomplishing what I say I want to do.

My self-righteousness shows up when I choose to hold onto my belief of not being loved and accepted.  Love is my natural state and I can accept myself at any given moment.

My self-righteousness shows up when I choose to believe others are responsible for my painful feelings.  I have free will, therefore I can change my thought and then my feeling will change.  I’m in control of how I choose to feel.

My self-righteousness shows up when I want to blame someone or something for any particular reason because I’m choosing to believe I’m powerless.

My self-righteousness shows up when I have an excuse, a lie or defense while someone is helping me to be a better person.

My self-righteousness shows up when I give up on myself and believe I cannot change and do the work.  My way, is what I’m use to and feels comfortable although the feeling of comfort only last for a while.

-Pam Holzknecht

3 thoughts on “The Many Aspects of Self-Righteousness

Leave a Reply

